Actions taken at IUPAC Council and Bureau, Torino 2007

1. The results of the election for IUPAC President for the biennium 2008-9 by Council on 12 August 2007 were as follows:

Prof. Jung-Il Jin (Korea)	74
Dr. Anders Kallner (Sweden)	28
Prof. Nicole Moreau (France)	33
Abstain	7

Prof. Jin therefore will be IUPAC President for 2008-9.

2. The results of the election for IUPAC Vice President for the biennium 2008-9 by Council on 12 August 2007 were as follows:

Prof. Nicole Moreau (France)	123
Against	7
Abstain	12

Prof. Moreau therefore will be IUPAC Vice President and President Elect for 2008-9.

3. The results of the election for IUPAC Secretary General for 2008-11 by Council on 12 August 2007 were as follows:

Prof. David StC. Black (Australia)	133
Against	2
Abstain	7

Prof. Black therefore will be IUPAC Secretary General for 2008-11.

4. The results of the election for IUPAC Treasurer for 2008-11 by Council on 12 August 2007 were as follows:

Prof. John Corish (Ireland)	132
Against	2
Abstain	8

Prof. Corish therefore will be IUPAC Treasurer for 2008-11.

- 5. The Bureau at its meting on 8 August approved a motion to set the number of Elected Members of the Bureau for 2008-9 at ten.
- 6. The results of the election for Members of the Bureau for the term 2008-11 by Council 12 August 2007 were as follows (four positions vacant):

Prof. Dusan Berek (Slovakia)	22
Prof. Giuseppe Della Gatta (Italy)	12
Prof. Vladyslav Goncharuk (Ukraine)	16
Prof. Minoru Isobe (Japan)	68
Dr. Anders Kallner (Sweden)	99
Prof. Venceslav Kaucic (Slovenia)	63
Prof. Werner Klein (Germany)	86
Prof. Ram S. Lamba (Puerto Rico)	80
Prof. Natalia Tarasova (Russia)	102

The following were therefore elected as Members of the Bureau for 2008-11: Dr. Kallner, Prof. Klein, Prof. Lamba, and Prof. Tarasova.

1 24 August 2007

Actions taken at IUPAC Council and Bureau, Torino 2007

- 7. The following Elected Members of the Bureau were elected to the Executive Committee by the Bureau on 12 August 2007: Prof. C. Bai, Prof. S. Chandrasekaran, and Dr. E. Reichmanis.
- 8. The Election of the following officers of Division Committees was approved by Council:

President

Division I: M. Rossi (Switzerland)
Division II: K. Tatsumi (Japan)
Division III: P. Tundo (Italy)
Division IV: C. Ober (USA)
Division V: A. Fajgelj (Slovenia)

Division V: A. Fajgelj (Slovenia)

Division VI: N. Senesi (Italy)

Division VII: D. Templeton (Canada)

Division VIII: G. Moss (UK)

Vice President

Division I. A. J. McQuillan (New Zealand)

Division II. R. Loss (Australia)

Division III. G. Koomen (Netherlands)

Division IV To be named later
Division V W. Lund (Norway)
Division VI None for 2008-9
Division VII To be named later

Division VIII R. Hartshorn (New Zealand)

Secretary

Division I R. M. Lynden-Bell (UK)
Division II L. Interrante (USA)
Division III M. Garson (Australia)
Division IV M. Hess (Germany)
Division V D. B. Hibbert (Australia)

Division VI W. J. G. M. Peijnenburg (Netherlands)

Division VII M. S. Chorgade (USA) Division VIII T. Damhus (Denmark)

- 9. Council approved the appointment of Batchelor, Tillery & Roberts, LLP, of Raleigh, North Carolina, USA as IUPAC Auditors for 2005 and 2006.
- 10. Council approved the Budget for 2008-9, including an increase in the total National Subscriptions of 3 % per annum.
- 11. Council approved the suspension of NAO status for those NAOs who have not paid their 2005 and earlier National Subscriptions until such time as the 2005 and earlier National Subscriptions are paid. As of 12 August 2007, this action would apply to the National Adhering Organization for Brazil.
- 12. Council approved the resignation of the Asociacion Quimica Argentina as the National Adhering Organization of Argentina, with the understanding that if the AQA reapplies for NAO status the total National Subscription currently owed,

24 August 2007

Actions taken at IUPAC Council and Bureau, Torino 2007

ARS 29 970.99, payable in USD at the then current exchange rate, must be paid before Council will consider such application.

- 13. Council approved the application of the Asociacion Quimica Argentina for Associate National Adhering Organization status, to be effective when the annual fee of USD 250 is paid.
- 14. Council approved the request to change the National Adhering Organization of Korea from the Korean Chemical Society to the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies.
- 15. Council approved National Adhering Organization status for the following organizations:

Sociedad Cubana de Química

Chemical Society of Ethiopia

Programa de Desarrollo de Ciencias Básicas (Uruguay)

- 16. Council approved the application of the Federación Latinoamericana de Asociaciones Químicas for Associated Organization status.
- 17. Council considered proposals from the Colegio de Quimicos de Puerto Rico and the Turkish Chemical Society to hold the 2011 Congress and General Assembly. The results of the ballot were as follows:

Colegio de Quimicos de Puerto Rico 78 Turkish Chemical Society 59 Abstain 5

The planned dates are 30 July-5 August for the General Assembly and 2-7 August for the Congress.

- 18. Council approved the continuation of Commission I.1: Commission on Physicochemical Symbols, Terminology and Units, Commission II.1: Commission on Isotopic Abundance and Atomic Weights, and the IUBMB-IUPAC Joint Commission on Biochemical Nomenclature.
- 19. Council endorsed the plan to obtain United Nations approval of 2011 as an International Year of Chemistry.
- 20. Council approved the request of the Bureau that the Council delegate to the Bureau the authority to approve a proposed name for the element of atomic number 112, providing that there is no controversy after the Public Comment period.
- 21. Council approved a proposed Press release by the Commission on Isotopic Abundances and Atomic Weights announcing the following changes in atomic weights and isotopic abundances:

```
nickel from 58.6934 +/- 0.0002 to 58.6934 +/- 0.0004 zinc from 65.409 +/- 0.004to 65.38 +/- 0.02 molybdenum from 95.94 +/- 0.02 to 95.96 +/- 0.02 ytterbium from 173.04 +/- 0.03 to 173.054 +/- 0.005 lutetium from 174.967 +/- 0.001 to 174.9668 +/- 0.0001 isotope ratio ^{40}Ar/^{36}Ar changed from 296.03 +/- 0.53 to 298.56 +/- 0.31.
```

3 24 August 2007