I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



Report from IUPAC-Sponsored Symposium

15th International Symposium on Plasma Chemistry, ISPC-15
9-13 July 2001, Orl´┐Żans, France.

> Back to Calendar

The 15th International Symposium on Plasma Chemistry, ISPC-15, was held in Orléans, France, from 9-13 July 2001. The Symposium was hosted by the laboratory GREMI (Groupe de Recherche sur l'Énerge-tique des Milieux Ionisés) at the University of Orléans, and was organized by an International Organizing Committee and a Local Organizing Committee, chaired respectively by A. Bouchoule and J. M. Pouvesle, both of GREMI. The 610 registered attendees came from 40 countries. Countries with the highest number of attendees included France (218), Japan (90), Germany (48), Russia (32), the United States (32), Czech Republic (31), Canada (26), Italy (20), Poland (16) and the Netherlands (12). The Symposium was preceded by the biennial International Summer School on Plasma Chemistry, held 4-6 July, and a Workshop on Industrial Applications of Plasma Processing, on 7 July, both of which were well attended.

The high quality of the presentations and the range of topics demonstrated the extraordinary vitality of the field of plasma chemistry. Over 550 papers were presented at the symposium, including 133 oral presentations and 420 posters. Presentations were grouped into major topical areas, which included fundamentals of and basic processes in each of thermal plasmas and non-equilibrium plasmas; sources, diagnostics and modeling in each of atmospheric pressure non-equilibrium plasmas, thermal plasmas, and low-pressure plasmas; plasma chemical vapor deposition of silicon-based compounds; inorganic films and hard coatings; plasma deposition and treatment of polymers; etching and micro-technology; plasma sprays and thermal plasma material processing; clusters, particles and powders; environmental applications of each of thermal plasmas and non-equilibrium plasmas; plasma chemical synthesis/engineering; and laser-based technologies and plasma light sources. The full conference proceedings, edited by A. Bouchoule, J. M. Pouvesle, A. L. Thomann, J. M. Bauchire and E. Robert, comprise eight volumes and more than 3000 pages.

There were seven plenary lectures, given by C. H. Kruger, Stanford University, US, on non-equilibrium discharges in air at atmospheric pressure; D. C. Schram, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands, on plasma processing and chemistry; M. Sekine, Association of Super Advanced Electronics Technologies, Japan, on future plasma technologies in ULSI processing; J. Heberlein, University of Minnesota, US, on new approaches in thermal plasma technology; S. De Benedictis, University of Bari, Italy, on energy transfers by long-lived species in glows and afterglows; P. Roca i Cabarrocas, École Polytechnique, France, on plasma production of polymorphous silicon thin films; and M. Moisan, University of Montreal, Canada, on plasma sterilization.

The plenary and invited papers will be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry, edited by A. Bouchoule.

The conference banquet was held at the magnificent Chateau de Blois. At the banquet the Plasma Chemistry Award was presented to Prof. Pierre Fauchais, of the University of Limoges, France. The Plasma Chemistry Award is the major award of the plasma chemistry community for career achievement. Prof. Fauchais was recognized for his outstanding contributions in the areas of thermal plasmas, plasma spraying, optical diagnostics, and modeling. In 1968 Prof. Fauchais founded the group on "Procédés de traitements de surface, " which is part of the CNRS laboratory SPCTS at the University of Limoges. Prof. Fauchais continues to direct this group, which has educated a large number of plasma scientists and engineers. In addition he has a distinguished record of service to the plasma chemistry community, having organized a number of conferences and having served on the IUPAC Subcommittee on Plasma Chemistry.

Best Paper Awards were presented to three young plasma scientists: Nicolas Gherardi, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France, for his paper on light emission in a glow dielectric barrier discharge in nitrogen; Matthias Meier, Max Planck

Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany, for his paper on formation of polymer-like hydrocarbon films from beams of methyl radicals and hydrogen atoms; and Masako Shindo, Kyushu University, Japan, for her work on the role of negative ions in an oxygen-argon electron cyclotron resonance plasma.

A major event at the Symposium was the founding of a new society, the International Plasma Chemistry Society (IPCS). The first meeting of the General Assembly of the IPCS, consisting of all attendees of IPSC-15, was held during the Symposium on 11 July 2001. At this meeting the Statutes of Foundation and Rules of Governance of the new Society were adopted.

I was elected for a two-year term as President of the IPCS and Chair of the Board of Directors. J. Winter, of the University of Böchum, Germany, was elected as Vice-Chair.

The next International Symposium on Plasma Chemistry, ISPC-16, is planned for Taormina, Italy, 22-27 June 2003. The Symposium will be hosted by R. d'Agostino, P. Capezzuto, and colleagues at the University of Bari, Italy.

by Steven L. Girshick
Professor in the High Temperature and Plasma Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Minnesota.

> Published in Chem. Int. 24(1), 2002

Page last modified 20 December 2001.
Copyright ©2001 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.