I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices
.. Prize for Young Chemists

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


Press Release, 8 August 2000

IUPAC announced the 2000 winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) today announced the winners of the first IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, planned as an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the chemical sciences, as described in a 1000-word essay.
The winners are:

  • Alberto Credi, Universit� di Bologna, Italy;
  • Hiroyuki Isobe, University of Tokyo, Japan;
  • Vijaya J. Patil, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India (currently with Hindustan Lever Research Centre, Bangalore, India); and
  • Chandra Saravanan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA (currently at the University of California, Berkeley).

The four winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and a free trip to the IUPAC Congress, 1-7 July 2001, Brisbane, Australia. Each prizewinner will also present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work.

Applications for the 2001 Prize are now being solicited, as described on the IUPAC web site www.iupac.org.

The essays describing the winners' theses can be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

There were 59 applicants from 24 countries. The Prize Selection Committee was comprised of Members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The Committee was chaired by Dr. Joshua Jortner, Professor of Chemistry at Tel Aviv University and Past President of IUPAC. Prof. Jortner commented on the high quality of the applications and said, "I am very happy with the results. The IUPAC Prize will constitute a significant contribution to the standards of international chemical sciences and to the image of IUPAC."

In view of the quality of many applications, the Committee decided also to give five Honorable Mention awards to:

  • Tamara V. Basova, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Science, Novosibersk, Russia;
  • Olivier P. Haefliger, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Z�rich, Switzerland (currently with Firmenich SA, Geneva, Switzerland);
  • Harri Hakala, University of Turku, Finland;
  • Mallela M. G. Krishna, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India (currently at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA); and
  • Joselito P. Quirino, Himeji Institute of Technology, Kamigori, Japan (currently at Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA, USA).

The Honorable Mention Award winners will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, the IUPAC "Gold Book".

The awards to the four winners of the IUPAC 2000 Prize and the winners of the IUPAC 2001 Prize will be made during the Grand Opening session of the IUPAC Congress in Brisbane, Australia.


Page last modified 9August 2000.
Copyright ©2000 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.