I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices
.. Prize for Young Chemists

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


Press Release, 14 May 2002

IUPAC announced the 2002 winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) today announced the winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the chemical sciences, as described in a 1000-word essay.
The winners are:

  • Jeroen J. L. M. Cornelissen, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands (currently at IBM Almaden research Center, San Jose, CA);
  • Jinsang Kim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, MA, USA (currently at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA);
  • Stefan Lorkowski, University of M�nster, Germany;
  • Simi Pushpan, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India.

The four winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and a free trip to the IUPAC Congress, 10-15 August 2003, Ottawa, Canada. Each prize winner will also be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work.

Applications for the 2003 Prize are now being solicited, as described on the IUPAC web site www.iupac.org.

The essays describing the winners' theses can be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

There were 40 applicants from 20 countries. The Prize Selection Committee was comprised of Members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The Committee was chaired by Dr. Alan Hayes, IUPAC Past President.

In view of the quality of many applications, the Committee decided also to give four Honorable Mention awards to:

  • Christopher J. Kuehl, University of Utah, USA (currently at Los Alamos National Laboratory, NM);
  • G�bor Lente, University of Debrecen, Hungary;
  • Shinsuke Sando, Kyoto University, Japan (currently at Stanford University, CA, USA);
  • Izabela Tworowska, Polish Academy of Sciences, Lodz, Poland (currently at Rice University, Texas, USA).

The Honorable Mention Award winners will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, the IUPAC "Gold Book".

The awards to the four winners of the IUPAC 2002 and those of 2003 will be made during the Opening Ceremony of the IUPAC Congress in Ottawa, Canada.

> Back to Prize index page


<announcement to be published in Chem. Int. 24(4), 2002>

For a collection of invited, peer-reviewed articles by the winners of the 2002 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, see Pure Appl. Chem. 74, 2021-2081 (2002)


Page last modified 3 April 2004.
Copyright ©2002-2004 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.