I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices
.. Prize for Young Chemists

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


Press Release, 1 June 2004

IUPAC announced the 2004 winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) today announced the winners of the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the chemical sciences as described in a 1000-word essay.
The winners are:
  • Parag Acharya, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Yu Huang, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Zhipan Liu, Queen's University of Belfast, UK
  • S. G. Srivatsan, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

The winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and a free trip to the IUPAC Congress, 14-19 August 2005, Beijing, China. Each prize winner will be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of their research topics to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Applications for the 2005 Prize are now being solicited, as described on the IUPAC web site www.iupac.org.

The essays describing the winners' theses can be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

  • Dr. Acharya, "Studies on the Non-covalent Interactions (Stereoelectronics, Stacking and Hydrogen Bonding) in the Self-assembly of DNA and RNA;"
  • Dr. Huang, "Integrated Nanoscale Electronics and Optoelectronics: Exploring Nanoscale Science and Technology through Semiconductor Nanowires;"
  • Dr. Liu, "Insight into Chemical Reactions: From Heterogeneous to Enzymatic reactions;"
  • Dr. Srivatsan, "Modeling Prebiotic Catalysis with Adenylated Polymeric Templates: Kinetic Characterization of Assisted Phosphate Ester Cleavage and Oxygen Insertion Reactions."

There were 44 applicants from 23 countries. The Prize Selection Committee was comprised of members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The committee was chaired by Prof. Pieter S. Steyn, IUPAC past president.

In view of the quality of many applications, the Committee decided also to give four Honorable Mention awards to:

The Honorable Mention Award winners will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, the IUPAC "Gold Book".

The awards to the four winners of the 2004 prize and those of 2005 will be made during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress. .

> Back to Prize index page


<announcement to be published in Chem. Int. Jul-Aug 2004 issue>

For a collection of invited, peer-reviewed articles by the winners of the 2004 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, see Pure Appl. Chem. 76(12), 2051-2099 (2004).


Page last modified 6 January 2005.
Copyright ©2003-2005 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.