I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices
.. Prizes for Young Chemists

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


Press Release, 12 April 2007

IUPAC announced the 2007 winners of the IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) today announced the winners of the 2007 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists, awards for the best Ph.D. theses in the chemical sciences as described in 1000-word essays.
The five winners are:
  • Deanna D'Alessandro, James Cook University, Queensland, Australia
  • Euan R. Kay, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Anna Aleksandra Michrowska, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw
  • Taleb Mokari, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Feng Tao, Princeton University, NJ, USA

The winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and a free trip to the IUPAC Congress, 5-11 August 2007, in Torino, Italy. Each prizewinner will also be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of their research topics to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry. The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2006 and 2007 prizes during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress.

The essays describing the 2007 winners' theses can be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

  • Dr. D'Alessandro, "Stereochemical Effects on Intervalence Charge Transfer"
  • Dr. Kay, "Mechanized Molecules"
  • Dr. Michrowska, "Search for new Hoveyda-Grubbs catalysts and their application in metathesis of alkenes"
  • Dr. Mokari, "Developing a new composite of nanocrystals with Semiconductor-Insulator and Semiconductor-Metal interfaces"
  • Dr. Tao, "Nanoscale Surface Chemistry of Organic Layers on Solid Surfaces Formed through Weak Noncovalent Interactions and Strong Chemical Bonds"

There were 57 applicants from 24 countries. The Prize Selection Committee was comprised of members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The committee was chaired by Prof. Leiv K. Sydnes, IUPAC past president.

In view of the many high-quality applications, the Committee decided to also give two Honorable Mention awards to:

The Honorable Mention Award winners will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, the IUPAC "Gold Book".

Applications for the 2008 Prize are now being solicited, as described on the IUPAC web site www.iupac.org.

> Back to Prize index page


<announcement published in Chem. Int. Jul-Aug 2007 issue>

For a collection of invited, peer-reviewed articles by the winners of the 2007 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, see Pure Appl. Chem. 80(1), 1-57(2008).


Page last modified 15 January 2008.
Copyright ©2003-2008 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.